I’m sorry, I can’t 

What a week!

Here in the Willamette Valley we’ve had very high winds and sideways rain and more winds. Even a tornado in a small town just north of Portland! It’s been crazy. In the midst of this, our small little neighborhood lost power. Only 8 houses. But ours was one of them. We didn’t have power for only 12-13 hours, but enough to ruin all the food in our two refrigerators and our large upright freezer. Ugh. The next day I went out to the freezer and realized it had died during the outage. Big disappointment. The freezer was given to us as a wedding presents from my in-laws. It’s been two days now and it’s still dead. Time to unplug and take to the dump. 

Then my most worried and feared event happened. My husband was rear ended on his way to work on the freeway. We live in a small town and he commutes to Portland for work. A lot of driving. A lot! We can’t tell how much damage has been done to his car, but likely the entire body was shifted. Not good. And although my husband wasn’t seriously injured (praise God), he did get whiplash. Super stiff, sore and slow moving today. I made him a Dr’s appointment, where my concerns were validated. Whiplash and muscle strain. 

In the rushing and bustling of getting my husband comfortable with a heating pad, ice, pain relievers . . . our oldest daughter went to use the computer to edit and print her final essay copy – to discover that in the power outage our computer got fried. Goodness sakes. 

Tonight, Friday, I’ve been planning on attending a pampered chef party with a group of girlfriends. I’ve been looking forward to it all week. But just a hour ago, I realized; I’m in no shape or frame of mind to be at a party. I’m literally emotionally exhausted. I think worry is as exhausting and debilitating as a physical injury. For me it is anyways. 

I emailed and called my friends and they all graciously accepted my decline to attend. I feel a little guilty. I just can’t do it, I’m sorry. 

Taking care of myself in the midst of all this normal everyday type of turmoil is so important. I’ve learned to stop denying myself that care. I need it. My family needs me to care for myself as well. 

   
 I plan on writing out more scripture memory cards for my children. Along with their very own Action Bible, I’m giving them each a box of homemade memory cards as part of their Christmas present. 
I’m going to love on my honey and serve him as much as possible. Catch up on laundry. Plan youth group for Sunday and just take it easy. 

Tonight I’ll make roasted veggies and ranch burgers for dinner and be glad and happy to be at our dinner table with those I love the most. 

  

One thought on “I’m sorry, I can’t 

  1. Oh my goodness! Car accidents are so scary. I’m sorry your husband was rear-ended, and pray that he continues to recover. You did the right thing by saying no. Hoping, though, that you do get some mom time soon. Advent blessings!

Leave a Reply

