Staying cool

It’s been in the 90’s here in the valley. So we’ve been doing a lot of water play and eating cold fruit and ice cream to stay cool. My husband got us some new AC units for our house as well, since we do not have central air. They’ve been wonderful. He knows how I can’t manage the heat well. It gives me migraines and I feel sick to my stomach. It’s been so cold that I’ve had to turn them off at times because the kids and I have goosebumps. Ha!

   
      

I read this paragraph in  The Discipline of Grace and it really spoke to me. “A sense of obligation and duty (or guilt) never stimulates such a desire within us. Only love does that. If we are going to persevere as committed disciples of Jesus Christ over the course of our lives, we must always preach the gospel to ourselves. Preaching the gospel to ourselves daily gives us hope, joy, and courage.” 

I think it’s hard to stop or quiet the internal dialogue of “bad” talk to ourselves. I should have done that instead of this. I should have said this instead of that. The quote “comparison is the thief of joy” is so true.

Preaching the gospel to myself daily is such a great way to wipe out that negative self talk. It’s all part of taking care of myself. 

Tonight I’m making spaghetti and a big salad. No softball tonight! Washing uniforms and towels. How do we run out of towels almost daily?! 😊

3 thoughts on “Staying cool

  1. Looks like a blast! I just took a couple of mine to a splash pad and they had so much fun 🙂

    And your thoughts…so true for myself as well.

    Enjoy your A.C.

Leave a Reply

