Busy, Books & Bible Verse

I was so happy to see that we may get snow flurries this week! I love Fall and Winter. They’re my favorite by far, although I really love Spring as well.

I bundled up the children this morning before they left for school. Temps are in the 30’s! Mittens, scarfs, warm soft hats and sweaters or sweatshirts under their coats for warmth. When I opened the screen door to see them off, a big gust of cold wind hit me square in the face and took my breath away. Abbey furrowed deeper into her coat and Anna smiled and shouted “I love it!” as loud as she could. Nicholas was already scurrying across the street to the school. Ha! It’s such a huge blessing to live across the street from our church/school. Just a hop over, really.

Tonight Abbey has piano lessons and Anna has a home basketball game. Nicholas is taking a break from after school activities. This is how we’ve managed active children, a working Mom, and a Dad who works crazy hours and is attending grad school at night. I’m only one person, and it’s (at times) quite difficult to get everyone where they need to be. Abbey took a break this last quarter, and now it’s Nick’s turn to. After school basketball is over (December) Anna will be the one taking a break.  Although, Anna will still be taking voice lessons twice a month. Those are on Saturday’s and don’t interfere with school work or anyone else’s activity schedule.

Thomas is super busy as well, still working on the dairy farm before and after school. It’s been a challenge for him to keep up with school work, sports and a job (and a girlfriend) but I think he’s starting to figure out how to manage everything without missing out on anything that is important to him. The little girl in me,  who loved her uncles farm, the cows, the hundreds of corn rows to play in, the hay barn – is loving that my son is enjoying some of the same sights and smells of farm life. It’s also good, honest, hard work for a growing boy! I can’t believe he’ll be 17 in January!

Jeromy is super busy with work and with grad school (he’s pursuing his doctorate in higher education). He had a big paper due yesterday, and spent a lot of time researching and writing it.  I’m so happy that he’s happy with what he turned in. I read it for him, adding my two cents and a little bit of proof reading.  He’s really a talented writer. I’m so proud of the hard work, and the time he’s had to give into producing such great work! I don’t envy him, one little bit though!

Things at home are also full and busy. In fact, maybe more so. There are seasons and phases in life that are just heavy. It’s not always something I enjoy. I’m a homebody, I prefer being at home on my own turf – in my comfort zone. This season of busy-ness has me a little more out on a limb. I’m co-chairing the school’s auction this year- which is the biggest event of the school year (quite a feat) and running my little home daycare full time, and I’m possibly going to start working Saturday and Sunday at a retail store here in our huge outlet mall. My plan is to do it a few months, through their busy season of the Holiday’s, and then hopefully taper back down to my little daycare during the week.

After all, I’ve got 4 children! 3 of whom are in private school, and the other in high school who will be a senior next year! I’m trying to plan ahead. What will be needed financially for my son in his senior year? There are so many expenses that I’m unaware of until they show up in front of my face.

I’m also looking forward to being out and about a little, amongst adults. Ha ha. I am mainly around children all day and I think it will be nice to chat and get out a bit more than I do, which is usually church on Sunday’s!

My little book group is still meeting once a month, and that’s always fun! Its interesting to see what other’s suggest for books. As, we all have such different interests. I came across a Catholic book site, where the top 20+ books were listed. They are:

1) The Power and the Glory

2) Brideshead Revisited

3) Diary of a Country Priest

4) Kristin Lavansdatter

5) Vipers Tangle

6) Silence by Shusaku Endo

7) The Woman Who was Poor

8) The Comforters

9) En Route

10) The Poems of Gerard Manley Hopkins

11) The Woman of the Pharisees

12) The End of the Affair

13) Under Satans Sun

14) Men at Arms

15) Men at Arms

16) Wise Blood

17) Monsignor Quixote

18) The Second Coming

19) Morte d’Urban

20) In this House of Brede

21) Death comes for the Archbishop

22) The Lord of the Rings

23) The Man Who Was Thursday

24) The Moviegoer

25) The Heart of the Matter

I did not write down all the authors, so my plan is to look them all up and then start requesting copies from the library to read. A few I’ve already read, but this is a great list, I think for my own personal reading. In book group we read Me Before You by JoJo Moyes, The Valley of Amazement by Amy Tan, and I Capture the Castle by Dodie Smith. All extremely different books!! The conversation this month should be lively.

I also just received my copy of Soul Gardening: A Mother’s Journal in the mail. Do you receive it? You can look here http://www.soulgareningjournal.com or email them to receive a copy soulgardeningjournal@gmail.com their address is PO Box 3172  Portland, OR 97208  it’s a treasure!

This verse is what I’m thinking about these days:

Colossians 3:15-17

“And let the peace of Christ control your hearts, the peace into which you were also called in one body. AND BE THANKFUL. Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly, as in all wisdom you teach and admonish one another, singing psalms, hymns, and spiritual songs with GRATITUDE in your hearts to God. And whatever you do, in word or in deed, do everything in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.

I’m working on that. It’s not always easy in this busy stage to feel gratitude and thankfulness. It doesn’t come easily or first hand to me. So I love this verse, and write it down often in my personal journal. Hoping the reminder seeps into my concious!

4 thoughts on “Busy, Books & Bible Verse

  1. Working weekends too?? Crazy! But you may just love it too. I wish we lived across the street from school. The 45 minute afternoon car ride to pick up all the boys is quite frustrating for Jude who hates that time in the car seat!

  2. Fun to read here, Denise. I can’t believe the things you accomplish, lady! Your book group sounds fun. I pray that God blesses you with peace in this busy time of life. ❤

  3. Oh I love book lists soooo much. Denise, I’ve read Kristen Lavransdatter twice. It’s amazing. I’m jotting down the other titles. I love hearing about your day….my children are excited for snow!

Leave a Reply

