A new year

I know it’s cliché to say my goal for the new year is to lose weight. In all honesty, I hope that’s the case, but my actual goal is to be pain free. Healthy. Have more energy. Be a good example for my girls. Prove to myself (and all the naysayers) that I can do it.

The plan is to have at least 30 minutes of exercise a day and eat healthier. Cut out the white stuff. Eat more lean meats and more veggies. No fast food for 2014 and be more cautious of what I’m feeding my body. Stop eating earlier. No snacking after dinner (that’s the hard one for me!!)

30 minutes is a good place to start. For me. I have arthritis in my hip and ankle after a bad injury a few years ago. I broke my ankle in 4 places and broke my leg. I wore a boot cast for 6 months. I have 6 screws in my ankle. So, I have to be a little careful to not over so it at the start.

So far so good. I’ve been walking on our treadmill, walking a 2 mile loop in our town and have been dancing to Just Dance 4. You probably won’t ever find me in a gym. Ha. I hate gyms. I’d much rather be outside!!

Here are some pictures from the last week or so. Oh, New Year’s Eve I spent home. Alone. With Chinese food and the food channel. I have learned that at times it’s imperative for me to have some quiet time. My honey took our 4 kiddos to the family game & snack night without me. They had a blast, and I had some much needed peace and quiet.

20140102-071421.jpg

20140102-071441.jpg

20140102-071516.jpg

20140102-071545.jpg

20140102-071617.jpg

20140102-071628.jpg

5 thoughts on “A new year

  1. You can do this! When I started doing the walking and the cutting back on sugar and stuff, it was so hard!
    Also, I was trying to remember the other day who my friend was that had just broken her leg when I started reading her blog, was that you? LOL

  2. Great goal!! I want to do the same–just eat healthier, move more, be a good example of health and self care for my kids, save money by cooking at home with healthy ingredients, grow a garden, etc. I think you are already off to a terrific start and hope it continues. Let me know if you find any great Paleo type recipes–I think for our family, definitely limiting/cutting out wheat and most dairy makes a huge difference. My kids had (and possibly still have) issues with modern wheat (we’ve tried Einkorn with success) and with dairy in the form of milk, sour cream, cream, etc. They seem ok with cheese and yogurt although one of them flatly refuses cheese. Sometimes we just know what our bodies need or don’t do well with, I think! I’m uncertain about ALL grains–I think rice, quinoa, flax, and some of the other grains are ok. I’m not sure which are considered grains in truth though, haha. I also think sometimes people go gluten free and then pack in the rice/potato flours and add tons of extra starches and carbs. We’re trying to eat more veggies, fruits, and lean proteins and then add the rest in around those core staples.

  3. I have thought about trying Paleo several times. My biggest struggle is my family. I am not sure how they would adjust to me cooking healthier. My husband, a meat and potatoes kind of guy, well he would have issues with that. I don’t have a goal to lose weight (that would be great) but I do want to feel healthier again. You are off to a much better start then I am. Make sure you share what works! I need some inspiration.

Leave a Reply

