More freezer cooking (2)

Ok. This weekend I made: Spinach lasagna roll ups, taco soup, dijon pork chops and margarita chicken. My hopes – this week the food prep will take no more than 15 minutes and I can spend the majority of the evening with my kids and husband eating around the table, helping with homework, going to Anna’s basketball games, playing board games and reading bedtime stories. No rushing allowed!!

A) Margarita chicken

This took seriously 5 minutes to prepare! The hardest part? Not drinking the margarita mix! 🙂 it’s probably best to grill this but I’ll probably cook it in the oven.

1) precut chicken tenders

2) lime margarita mix WITH alcohol

3) cilantro

That’s it! Toss in a bag and place in the freezer laying flat – so once it is frozen, you can place it up with a million other frozen ziploc bags and not take up a ton of space in your freezer.  We have a upright freezer that my in-laws got us as a wedding present – and I LOVE it. Cannot imagine life without it. We also have two fridges. One in the house with a big drawer freezer, and one in the garage with the top freezer (this is the freezer I do all my flash freezing in).

B) Dijon pork chops

Again, this was super quick to prepare. Hardest part? Getting the dijon mustard out of the measuring cup. Easy. I put 5 pork chops in each freezer bag.

1) 1 1/2 C apricot preserves

1/2 C teriyaki sauce

1/4 C dijon mustard

pork chops

C) Taco Soup

This took a little longer, but not much longer to prepare. Hardest part?  Opening the cans, and rinsing the black beans. So, yeah, not too hard! My husband did frown that I used the last two beers we had in the fridge – but I assured him  that me being less stressed on a school night was worth more than two beers. He believed me. Smart man. I made 2 of these. Thaw a bit and cook in crockpot on low for 6+ hours.

1) onion, diced up

2) 1 can each of – chili beans, black beans, corn, tomato sauce & beer. Rinse the black beans & drain the corn.

3) 2 10 oz cans of diced tomatoes with green chili

4) 1 pkg of taco seasoning

5) chicken breasts – how ever many you want to toss in there.

D) Spinach lasagna roll ups

This took the most prep – but still not too much longer than 10 minutes or so. Hardest part? Not burning my fingers as I untangled the cooked lasagna noodles. Ouch!

1) lasagna noodles, 1 box (20 noodles)

2) ricotta cheese 32 Oz

3) parm cheese 1 1/2 c

4) 1 egg and salt & pepper

5) 2 thawed & drained packages of frozen spinach. The more liquid you squeeze out, the better!

Mix all the ingredients in a bowl, cook lasagna noodles then lay those out on a tray – and scoop the mixture on each noodle and spread it out. Carefully roll up the lasagna noodle. Flash freeze these on cookie sheets, then transfer to a ziploc bag and toss the bag in the freezer. Just like the enchiladas I made last week – I’ll be able to pull out as many roll ups as I want at a time. So it can just be two for me for lunch, or several for dinner – and I won’t have to heat up an entire frozen 9×13 lasagna pan. Smart! Just put a few in a dish, cover with sauce and mozzarella cheese, foil cover and bake till heated through. Time will depend on if they’re frozen or thawed.

 

20131117-152306.jpg

20131117-152321.jpg

20131117-152336.jpg

20131117-152354.jpg

7 thoughts on “More freezer cooking (2)

  1. Oooh! Thanks for these great ideas for the freezer!! I’ve been feeling like I need to get meals in the freezer for the beginning of the new year when our baby #4 is due to arrive . . . and I was feeling a little overwhelmed to know where to start. So much of my cooking is day-of and quick, last minute stuff. Ha! Finding freezer meals that works looks like a chore. But this looks like a great place to start, so I’m bookmarking this page. 🙂

Leave a Reply

